Lifestyle · Personal · Spirituality

When Inspiration Doesn’t Strike; How to Become Inspired

In case it wasn’t blatantly obvious due to the lack of content on here lately, my creative spark has taken a bit of a hit the past few of months. August, September and October have flown by, and with them have come several pretty big changes – mostly really good ones. It served as a bit of a reality check that life pauses for nothing and no one. So we have to seize the day!

1While I have not been uninspired with life, I was feeling uninspired creatively. The difference between the two? One means waking up every day happy and energetic about whatever you may face; the other is when you have a strong urge to create. I just haven’t had it in me to create much. And that is okay – life is all about seasons, and it’s important to recognize that they will pass.

I am happy to say I have made it out to the other side though! My brain has been kicked into high gear, the juices are flowing, and I have the urge to contribute creatively again. It was a combination of elements that really helped me get out of my funk, and I’ve laid them out for you guys below. Because I know I’m not the only person this happens to.

  1. Favorite movie/song/tv show It’s your favorite for a reason. This doesn’t mean veg out for a full on marathon, no no. Instead, actively pay attention. Take notice of the things that make you laugh, the aspects you find aesthetically pleasing, the riffs you can’t help but nod your head to. Draw inspiration from it all.
  2. Listen to podcasts of others doing what they love Inspiration can be contagious, and it is such a delicious feeling when we catch it from others. This is a great option for more auditory people. 4
  3. De-stress It’s difficult to become inspired when you’ve got a checklist of to do items and deadlines swimming around in your brain. Relax. Breathe in. Think of one word – your mantra, if you will – and exhale  (believe it or not, this is actually meditation. That’s right. You’re meditating). You will ALWAYS have a to do list, I promise, it’s not going anywhere. But your inspiration is. Make some room in your head for it by letting go of stress.
  4. Spend time with loved ones Be it your family, your friends, your significant other, or even your pet. Soak in the goodness of these people and let the love you have for them pour into the other aspects of your life.
  5. Take care of you Your body can only give what you put in to it. Think of it like a machine, one you need to constantly provide maintenance for. Work out. Eat right. Sleep well. Once you’re physically at your best, your mental capacity will follow.

If this post happens to apply to you right now, then take it from me – you will get out of this! I know it’s easy to grow frustrated, but stay patient with yourself; even Mozart had his moments. The tips above really helped me, and I hope they help you, too!

3.jpg

xoxo,

Dani

 

Leave a Reply

