Home Decor · Mommy Diaries

The Seasonal Swap; Holiday Home Decor

It’s the most wonderful time of the year!

No really. It is.

If you’re anything like me, you may already have your holiday decor up and running. In fact, if you’re anything like me, you may or may not have done so on the eve of October 31st, after the last trick or treater knocked on your door and left you with a ton of leftover chocolate and Halloween candy. Can you name a better way to work off a sugar rush than putting up winter holiday decorations? I bet you can’t. I sure couldn’t.

But I know the whole world may not share my viewpoint on this.

Needless to say, I got a bit of an early start on my holiday cheer this year. I couldn’t help it though! There’s really only a solid 6 or 7 weeks to this season, so can you blame me for wanting to milk it for all it’s worth?

christmas_decor-01My approach this year was a tad bit different than that of past years. This year, I have a little one to keep in mind. And by little one, I mean a walking, grabbing, overly active 1 year old who insists on getting his hands on everything in sight and immediately throwing each thing to the ground at least twice a day. Quite the recipe for a disaster.

Naturally, a Christmas tree was out of the question this year. I don’t even want to think of the terror he would do to a spruce tree of his very own inside the house, let alone an ornamented one. So instead, I concentrated on switching up the decor pieces in my home that he would not be able to reach. This was actually much easier than anticipated, and I was really happy with the results. It’s completely possible to get the same holiday ambiance and warmth, simply by swapping out a few key pieces.

I’ve laid out 5 key pieces below – they’ve really made all the difference in bringing Christmas into our home:

  1. Candles Just because you don’t have a tree, doesn’t mean you have to sacrifice that rich pine smell! Candles not only set the mood, but the scent they give off can instantly take you to the fresh white snowcaps of the Apalacians. Or at lescreen-shot-2013-11-14-at-10-18-22-amast take you away from the city smog outside your window.
  2. Pillows Okay, easiest thing to swap EVER. Literally, there is nothing to think about. And if you have nowhere to store the ones currently in use? Get you some festive pillow covers. Just slip them on over your decorative pillows and call it a day.
  3. String lights Hang these everywhere. Over your bed frame, over the stove. Use them as a window treatment. String.them.everywhere.
  4. Wall prints You can find these all over during this time of year, and they prints that match every holiday theme you can possibly think of! Classic red and green, chic white and gold, modernblack and silver. Just pick out some quotes and images you like and hang these using simple non-invasive hooks. Easy to both put up and take down.
  5. Ornament pillars You can create these yourself or buy some already assembled, depending on how crafty you want to get. 67dc01038c2148cf09f143e942b09883But a glass canister full of pretty ornaments can be kept up high on counters and away from little hands.

By incorporating holiday versions of the above, I was able to really tie my home together without the need for a Christmas tree or other potentially hazardous floor pieces. Added bonus? These can all be really inexpensive pieces to find too! Whether you have young rambunctious ones as well or simply don’t feel like going through the work of putting up a tree this year (I am SO not judging), I hope this helps some of you as well!

xoxo,

Dani

Leave a Reply

